Occupational First Aid training – FAR training

QQI Level 5 Occupational First Aid is being reviewed and updated by HSA and PHECC  and will transition to First Aid Response (FAR),  the new education and training standard for Occupational First Aid with changes coming into effect on 01/09/2017

What is FAR?

First Aid Response or FAR is PHECC’s newest education and training standard. It’s a foundation
first aid course that trains course participants to provide first aid for a person who becomes
suddenly unwell or injured until the arrival of emergency medical services. FAR includes the
full Cardiac First Response Community standard also.  PHECC have a helpful FAQ page.

What changes will I see?

Much of the course content will remain unchanged and run over three days as previous training with a new limit of 6 students per trainer.  Occupational First Aid Refresher training as of 01/09/2017 will run over 2 days with a limit of 6 students per trainer.

Our comprehensive 3 day First Aid Responder (FAR)  training is a statutory course set down by the HSA and PHECC based on the requirements of the 2007 Safety, Health & Welfare at Work (General Application) Regulations. Training is delivered only by trainers on the Register of Occupational First Aid Training Providers (OFAAA) and attendance is strictly limited to 6 candidates per trainer

Successful participants will qualify as Occupational First Aiders in accordance with current Health and Safety legislation, and will receive  FAR certification. Certificates are valid for a period of 2 years, following which Occupational First Aiders must attend a two-day re-validation course.

Course content is set by HSA and PHECC and includes the following modules:

  • First Aid in the Workplace
  • Patient Assessment
  • Respiratory Emergencies
  • Cardiac First Response
  • Wounds & Bleeding
  • Altered Levels of Consciousness
  • Musculoskeletal Injuries
  • Burns and scalds, chemicals, poison, electric shock